BuzzFeed Crossword – Monday 18 January 2016

SON OF A…” by Neville Fogarty

Here we go yo, here we go yo/ So what so what so what’s the scenario? – idk it’s been in my head all day so let me jam out while you solve this puzzle

Mon 1 18

Son of a…

Constructor: Neville Fogarty

Theme: Theme answers end in words that can follow “Mc” to create McDonalds menu items.

  • 17A: SNOW FLURRY – Phenomenon filled with a bunch of flakes
  • 22A: GOLD NUGGET – Prize in a pan for a prospector
  • 32A: BROKEN RIB – Cage problem created during a cage match, maybe
  • 41A: CYBER CAFE – Somewhat outdated place to sip java and use a Java applet
  • 50A: STUDMUFFIN – Total hottie
  • 59A: BODY DOUBLE – Stand-in on a set
  • 68A: MC – Letters preceding the second parts of this puzzle’s longest entries at the Golden Arches

Ben: I don’t understand the title on this one — otherwise, it’s a nice straightforward Mondayish theme. I didn’t see what was going on until I got to the revealer, possibly because Neville did such a nice job of pulling all the themers from a non-food context.

Lena: I also don’t understand the title! Son of a… Preacher Mac? If it’s a McDonald’s commercial thing, I’ll just have to wait until it’s on Netflix.

Ben: Not much long fill today with six themers plus the CM/MC gag. It’s all very clean, as always. The central area is cordoned off to the point that I basically solved this as three mini-puzzles.

Lena: Something about the themers being layered on 8-letter answers and the low-incline stagger stack in the middle gave me the impression that there was a lot of long fill. But I guess with horizontal lengthiness comes vertical… stubbiness. I liked the themers as non-theme fill as well.

Ben: Really loved the clue on BROKEN RIB — aside from that, also appreciated 37A: “Nothing Feels Good: Punk Rock, Teenagers, and ___” (2003 book by Andy Greenwald) which is both a great clue for EMO and a great title. On the other hand, OMI being clued as the singer of “Cheerleader” gave me a little trouble. I know the song, but is he a household name?

Lena:  The O shared by OMI and OMNES (45D: Exuent ___ (stage direction that means everyone should GTFO the stage)) was the last thing I filled in; liked the OMNES clue though! Also laughed out loud at 35D: “Fuck yeah you’re spending the rest of your life with me!” saving the tired– nay, exhausted– I DO. No [Swear words] here, but a swear in the clue!

Ben: Harry Potter reference in MOONY (67A: Nickname of one of the creators of the Marauder’s Map (due to the fact that he’s a werewolf), whom I remembered as MOODY. Turns out he’s a different Harry Potter character. The fact that URBAN (51D: Name shared by an “American Idol” judge and eight popes became U R BAD should probably have been a tip-off, huh.

Lena: Is MOODY is MOONY’s EMO twin brother? Haha, also, maybe U R BAD should be the pope’s vanity plate– isn’t the deal that we are all way badder than popes?

Ben: I don’t know why I find 24D: Word that can be followed by “Me to the Pilot,” “Me to the River,” or “Me to the Land of Hell” to make a song title as a clue for TAKE so funny, but I do. Also don’t know why “stole” is in quotation marks in the clue for ROB (31D: Schneider who “stole” 104 minutes of my life when I watched “The Hot Chick”. Talk about a movie I have no desire to see (and I have watched some stupid movies, believe me).

Lena: According to a BuzzFeed Commenter it’s “fucking hilarious.” Look, I go there for science.

5 comments
  1. erinium said:

    “Stole” is in quotation marks because it’s a play on ROB being a synonym for steal.

    I don’t get the title either, but I adore me some Neville, so he could just tell me it’s super clever and hilarious and I’d believe him.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Neville said:

    In Scottish and Irish names, the leading “Mac” or, as in this puzzle, “Mc” means “son of.” That’s why I picked the title “Son of a…”

    Liked by 3 people

    • Lena Webb said:

      that is raaaawwwwwwww

      Like

    • lol I was thinking “son of a biscuit” and mcbiscuit as a breakfast item. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

      Like

  3. erinium said:

    Ohhh, right. I might have remembered that eventually. [slinks off, hoping no one looks at her Scotch-Irish name on the way out]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

