Glutton for Pun #175 by Erik Agard

THEMELESS 44

Take a break from holiday stuff and solve this puzzle, then read below.


themeless44

Glutton is back this week with a nice rectangular 17×13 themeless. So many sweet long answers here…my pop culture knowledge is lacking these days, but I was able to fill things in through crossings. My first stumbling block was actor DAVID OYELOWO, most recently known for movies Selma and NightingaleEPISCOPALIAN came to me from crossings as well, as I didn’t recognize the name of The Most Reverend Michael Bruce Curry, who is the first African-American presiding bishop of the Episcopalian Church. I had heard of MASTER OF NONE briefly, but after looking into it, I know what I’ll be binge watching during my couple of days off. PALEFACE was new to me, too.

Otherwise, the symmetry of IN A LITTLE BIT / ANY MINUTE NOW was lovely. I loved the cluing for  IDITAROD [Cold heat?], and LIVE-TWEETS and LISTICLE are nice and fresh. The partial NEVER SAY [-die] wasn’t great, but it didn’t ruin anything for me.

The short fill was clean and enjoyable (okay, I didn’t adore SSNS or I’M AS or ABCD, but that’s all). Highlights include the combination of 43d. [Carried] for BORNE and 47a. the ITIS [food-43-Down “disease” whose symptoms include feeling very lazy]. If I need to have a foodborne illness, I’ll take the itis over Shigella any day. It was also great to see some love for Big BOI and Big Grams, his collaboration with Phantogram. The clue for ELL [“Bloody ___!” (Cockney outburst)] made me laugh, and the clue for TOO FAR [Cross line after a line is crossed] was extra clever. My favorite clue/answer combo, though, has to be [Bailiwick for Neil deGrasse Tyson and Donald Glover, for two] for NERDDOM. Donald Glover is amazing, and I have been in love with Neil deGrasse Tyson since his first appearances on the Colbert Report in the mid-2000s.

That’s all for now. Until next time (not sure when that will be with a ton of Christmas preparations coming up), please enjoy some naughty science with Dr. Tyson.

Leave a Reply

